Go To Search
Government - Internal City StructureCity Services - How We Serve YouCommunity - Resident EngagementVisitors - WelcomeHow Do I? - Citizen Help Center
Click to Home
2016 Municipal Election Results

Municipal Election

At the close of candidate qualifying on July 19 at 5:00 p.m., Mayor Craft, Councilman Garris, Councilman Harris, Councilman Dyken and Councilman Jones were the only candidates to qualify for office of City Council for their respective places.  Therefore, pursuant to Section 11-46-26, Code of Alabama 1975, they are deemed re-elected to the City Council for the 2016 – 2020 term without opposition.

The newly elected Mayor and Council for the 2016 – 2020 term will be sworn in at a Special Meeting to be held on Monday, November 7, 2016 at 4:00 p.m.

Place 2
In the City Council Place 2 race on August 23, Gary Sinak received 537 votes to win the seat. Opponent Kevin Corcoran brought in 507 votes.

Notice of Special Meeting 
In accordance with Section 11-46-55 of the Code of Alabama, commencing at noon on the first Tuesday next after the election, the Council must canvass the election results.  

Therefore, notice is hereby given that a Special Meeting of the City Council of the City of Gulf Shores, Alabama was held at Gulf Shores City Hall in the Council Chambers on Tuesday, August 30, 2016 at 12:00 Noon to canvass the votes from the August 23, 2016 Municipal Election and for the purpose of conducting any other business that may come before the Council at said meeting. 

Resolution 5722-16
Resolution 5723-16